cool-shakespeare

I can’t believe the New Year is almost upon us. It seems like we were just ringing in 2013. As I was recently thinking about some goals I want to accomplish within the next year, one that has been in the back of my mind for some time kept throwing its hand up screaming, “pick me, pick me.”

So, for 2014, I am taking on the Bard. While I’ve read quite a few of his plays, I’ve not read them all. I’ve always wanted to dedicate a year to reading Shakespeare’s work.  And, as 2014 is the 450th anniversary of his birth, I can’t think of a better time.

I’ve already devised a plan, breaking up his 38 plays, poems and sonnets into months, which I will post in early January (as the Bard wrote in Hamlet, “Though this be madness, yet there is method in ‘t”).  According to the Folger Library, Shakespeare’s complete works consist of 884,647 words and 118,406 lines. And, while that’s definitely doable, it will be a challenge.  The biggest one being that there are a lot of books I want to read (not to mention all the great ones that will be released in the upcoming year). While I may be able to squeeze in a few, I will have to put most on hold.

So, join me in 2014 (either to read along or just for moral support:-) in celebration of the Bard.

