macbeth

Macbeth is perfect reading for Halloween. It has witches, ghosts, murder and things that go bump in the night. I was quoting ‘Macbeth’ before I even knew who Macbeth was (as I assume many people do without realizing it). It was in junior high school that I first read Macbeth’s “To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,” soliloquy and it stuck. I loved the cadence of the speech and the finality of the words.  Since, Macbeth has become my favorite of Shakespeare’s tragedies. Lady Macbeth continuously washing her hands (Out, damned spot! Out, I Say!) and Banquo’s ghost appearing before Macbeth are pretty strong images I never forgot.

I also love the theatrical superstition tied to the play. It is believed that if anyone utters “Macbeth” during the production, disaster will ensue. Instead, actors and theater goers simply refer to it as The Scottish Play, and Macbeth as the Scottish King or even Mackers.

As someone recently said, its a tale of love, loss, manipulation and greed. And the Macbeths have been wowing audiences with it for centuries. Ahh..only the Bard…

To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time;
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.

