Bookstack1

When I began the WV Reads 150 program earlier this year, I tasked myself with diversifying my bookshelf. While I try to read all genres, if I don’t watch myself I can fall right back into that comfort zone of biographies and historical fiction.

I created a list in January of the types of books I wanted to read, including a number of biographies/autobiographies, historical fiction and non-fiction, as well as some of the classics. I also added letters, plays (from others than Shakespeare–are there any others?), poetry, current events and world affairs and self-improvement.  And, of course, the frivolous, tawdry chic lit novel every once in awhile.

So, here is what I’ve got on my bedside table this fall. Yes, I know I’m probably the only American who hasn’t yet read The Happiness Project, but bear with me. And if you have reading suggestions, give me a shout.

