I’m obsessed with George Mallory. There. I’ve said it. Was he the first person to summit Everest? We’ll likely never know. But, I’ve had my fun reading every book and article I can find on him this year trying to figure it out.

It all started with Tanis Rideout’s Above All Things, a fictional account of George and Ruth Mallory’s life together. From there I was hooked on discovering the real Mallory.

Aside from climbing mountains, Mallory also wrote. A lot. To say that I was like a kid at Christmas when his first and only book, Boswell the Biographer, a first edition no less, arrived in my mailbox is an understatement.

So, what makes this 20th century Englishman who climbed mountains so spectacular? He was well-read (read poetry and Shakespeare to his climbing buddies 20,000 plus feet up on Everest), he was open minded, believed in honesty and truth, had more determination and ambition in his pinky finger than I’ll ever possess, wrote some pretty spectacular love letters to his wife and wore tweeds to climb the world’s highest mountain. Need I say more?

Hang with me and you’ll learn more than you ever wanted to about George Mallory 🙂

Boswell

